Food experiences as a primary momentum of the journey.

This is not a backpacking blog. Nothing wrong about backpacking! It’s just not my primary goal. I have thought about it many times though… but everytime I think in those directions my mind gets stuck around the cheapest places to live and how to maintain the journey for as long as possible. Perhaps I’m one of those who either goes fully: or not at all (and maybe that’s why I don’t have any pictures here just yet. I mean, who wants to have pictures in a restaurant menu; in a prolog of a book; or in a text like this? It just doesn’t make any sense – certainly not when the text is about something that is going to happen. The personal expectations, based on complex personal experiences, shouldn’t get harpooned by a picture of a dodo).

Gastronomic vagabond is a lifestyle for the open-minded foodie that strives for inspiration; adventure; and who still doesn’t know what to do in life. The differences between a gastronomic vagabond and a backpacker can be confusing and it might seem that they have similar interests. Food experiences as a momentum of the journey does, for me anyway, enhance the feeling of going somewhere – rather than away from something. Backpackers are hard to categories because of the variety, but when I do think about backpacking I recall gap year students who have the same mindset of their hometowns as the sufflé does for its ceramic mold – “I have to get away from here”. Vagabond feels more lika a swedish cracker. Its durable.

Leave a comment